Looking for antenna advice

I’ve been doing a lot of CW work in the past few months, mainly on 20-30-40 meters

I have a great wooden widow’s walk on the roof of our Austin Home, I can affix almost anything to it, but again, its wood.

I’m looking for advice on a great antenna, vertical multi-band feels like the right way to go, but maybe I should consider a different approach?

  • An inverted V that goes all the way to the ground?
  • A Dipole?
  • ?? ??

Any advice is highly appreciated!

Please leave comments below

73

KF5SLN

UPDATE

22 thoughts on “Looking for antenna advice

  1. Double Bazooka Antenna setup as inverted V. Depending on height, try to keep ends 6 ft off the ground. Nice quiet antenna that doesn’t pickup all the noise which is great for CW. Check out http://www.radiowavz.com I own an 80 meter and 160 meter from them and love it!

    73’s

    Ed
    K3HTK

  2. From Headbangers Ball to Ham Radio? Weird… I tried an antenna called the W5GI mystery antenna. I built one because I had the materials hanging about. It replaced an 80m inverted vee fed with ladder line. The results were astounding, especially on 20m, which is its actual design frequency. It should be fed with a tuner. If you are bored, build it yourself. I knew the guy that came up with this antenna.

    Good luck,

    Marc WR2I

  3. What can I say Marc… it started with Helicopter and fixed wing license, then Tech to General. Extra next month.
    I guess since I droppe dout of college I like the challenge os a test?

    Learning the code is another challenge I’m enjoying 🙂

  4. Do you have any trees nearby? As Marc (WR2I) suggested, the W5GI Mystery Antenna is hard to beat. Inexpensive, easy to build and is only 100′ long. Designed for 20m but works 80m to 10m with a tuner.

  5. I really like magnetic loop antennas, but read up on them first. If you have a lot of room, keep it simple and go with a trap dipole in an inverted V (or u or lower case n configuration. simple to build and very forgiving. If you lots of space, G5RV fed with a remote tuner.

  6. Screw tuners? All they do is make the radio think the antenna has a fool behind the keyboard!
    Seriously…
    Adam, mag loops are complex, not for the faint of heart. They also have very limited bandwidth if not tuneable. Extremely high voltage variable capacitor is required for tuning a magloop, such as a huge butterfly or vacuum variable. Very low noise, but not simple. Traps work, but are lossy. A tuner aka antenna coupler can make a wire rather efficient in some cases where the tuner is used close to the antenna feedpoint. Some wire ant designs use the feedline as part of the radiating element. That W5GI antenna I mentioned is really easy to build with cheap stuff. I was surprised how much better it worked than some of the other wire antennas I have built. I also used many different full wave loops on 40m. Killer signal into Europe at night.

    Try the Mystery Antenna… the thing works and is a cool simple project. wire, RG-8X and TV twin lead.

    I took my advanced class exam after a night at L’Amour Brooklyn.

    \m/ arc WR2I

  7. ITM… All good suggestions… If you have some trees available, a butterfly dipole is very effective and inexpensive… You can easily do 20-30 & 40 meters… Good luck!
    de KA8SFL, Jim

  8. I really appreciate the help from everyone. I have more options than I could have imagined and am starting to see the fun in trying different solutions. A full loop is sounding kindof fun…

  9. I will email the pics to you… very hard to see because I used blue wire for the antenna so it would blend in with the sky… and the trees make part of it impossible to pick out… Chem-trail background at no charge!
    Jim – KA8SFL

  10. Bear in mind, a full wave loop is primarily a single band antenna. It offers a typical gain of 2 dBd broadside pattern. This is huge on 40m, as the majority are running dipoles. On 20m, it is a different story. You will be competing with stations that are running multi element Yagi’s.
    Antennas are fun.

  11. On their way… and Marc is correct… hence, I’m only on 40 mtrs… I had the butterfly dipoles on 15, 20 & 40 before a severe storm blew them down… but it was very effective as well…
    Antenna’s are definitely interesting… and fun… depending on your definition of “fun”! LOL.
    Jim – KA8SFL

  12. Pingback: Strange Data Loss | Adam Curry's Outlines

  13. I’ve had good luck with long wire that is end feed with a tuner. Depending upon the frequency you can get a fair amount of gain depending upon how long the antenna is.
    73 WA5KTC

  14. i use a 40m delta loop for 20/30/40 meter works fine, on dipole 2×15 meter had to
    much manmade noise but with the deltaloop the noise in minimal,the loop is feb by
    a sort of open feeder made of 2 coaxes paralell and a symetrical funer
    its cheap and easy to build and works well,if could setup a hex beam i would
    do that -its verry good use it only /p .
    Hans, pa5fn

Leave a Reply

